I Wish I Was The Moon

Shortly ago I came across this song by Neko Case.  I have never heard of this singer before until I was watching True Blood and discovered it as the episodes title from season 4 and it’s ending credit song.  (Now, I love me some True Blood and believe they have a great soundtrack for every episode.  So you might see True Blood incorporated in the Song Lyrics category.)

The song is titled “I Wish I Was The Moon.”

Chimney falls and lovers blaze
Thought that I was young
Now I’ve freezing hands and bloodless veins
As numb as I’ve becomeI’m so tired
I wish I was the moon tonight

Last night I dreamt I had forgotten my name
‘Cause I had sold my soul but awoke just the same
I’m so lonely
I wish I was the moon tonight

God blessed me, I’m a free man
With no place free to go
I’m paralyzed and collared-tight
No pills for what I fear

This is crazy
I wish I was the moon tonight

Chimney falls and lovers blaze
Thought that I was young
Now I’ve freezing hands & bloodless veins
As numb as I’ve become

I’m so tired,
I wish I was the moon tonight

How will you know if you found me at last
‘Cause I’ll be the one, be the one, be the one
With my heart in my lap
I’m so tired, I’m so tired
And I wish I was the moon tonight

I’m so tired, I’m so tired,
And I wish I was the moon
I’m so tired, I’m so tired,
And I wish I was the moon tonight

I love a good song with some cool or meaningful lyrics.  There is a reoccurring theme of being lost and loneliness that Case sings about.  It appears that loneliness can easily be cured by being the moon which belongs to everyone so to speak.  Being “tired” can be understood as dealing with what life has dealt, like loneliness.  Now I may be taking it a little further than maybe what Case is meaning but songs always effect each of us differently.  I find this song beautiful and fun to sing.
Audio:
Leave a Reply

