The Breathless Trilogy: Rush

I have mentioned Maya Banks in the past and she will probably be mentioned in the future, just to prepare you, because she is just too good and is constantly writing new books.

In 2013, yes last year but you should still read it, Banks released a series called The Breathless Trilogy.  The series follows three men: Gabe, Jace, and Ash.  All businessmen who have been friends since college see their lives change as they fall in love with some heart stomping women.

“Gabe, Jace, and Ash: three of the wealthiest, most powerful men in the country. They’re accustomed to getting anything they want. Anything at all. For Gabe, it’s making one particular fantasy come true with a woman who was forbidden fruit. Now she’s ripe for the picking…” (series bio from banks website).


The series first book, Rush highlights Gabe and Mia. “When Gabe Hamilton saw Mia Crestwell walk into the ballroom for his hotel’s grand opening, he knew he was going to hell for what he had planned. After all, Mia is his best friend’s little sister. Except she’s not so little anymore. And Gabe has waited a long time to act on his desires. Gabe has starred in Mia’s fantasies more than once, ever since she was a teenager with a huge crush on her brother’s best friend. So what if Gabe’s fourteen years older? Mia knows he’s way out of her league, but her attraction has only grown stronger with time. She’s an adult now, and there’s no reason not to act on her most secret desires. As Gabe pulls her into his provocative world, she realizes there’s a lot she doesn’t know about him or how exacting his demands can be. Their relationship is intense and obsessive, but as they cross the line from secret sexual odyssey to something deeper, their affair runs the risk of being exposed—and vulnerable to a betrayal far more intimate than either expected” (book bio from Banks website).

Banks’ Rush is a book that I thoroughly enjoyed.  Mia is a younger woman who has known Gabe for a long a time and finally has the opportunity to act on her feelings on her crush.  This story is always one that I enjoy because characters have a small back story but once feelings become involved a new story begins and as a reader we are able to witness their new experience.  It always goes to show that no matter how well you know someone feelings change everything and heighten that relationship to another level.

What I love most about this series as a whole and what you will see within in each book is the focus on the male characters.  How many times have you read a Romance novel and the woman is the only point of view?  Banks perfectly incorporates both male and female views.  This series, as well as this text, focuses, I feel, more on the male views more deeply.  I LOVE the male view.  I hope some men think like these characters, haha!

With hot, steamy scenes and unsure thoughts Gabe and Mia are a couple to follow and enjoy.  Secrets and struggles test this couple to the limits.  Will Gabe forget about his hurt and let Mia in?  Will Mia continue to go after what she wants and prove herself to Gabe?  Read for yourself and find out!

For more information: @maya_banks  and


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s