Losing It

GREAT BEARD OF ZEUS! It has been a while since I posted a review.  But that will be fixed NOW!

So I am currently still working on Autumn Rose (Gibbs book two in the Dark Heroine series).  In my search I decided to quickly peruse the Target book section and found something small to read and review for my AWESOME followers.

Of course walking straight to the Romance section I came across an interesting story that I have been wanting to find and luckily I found it.  How I did not hear about it before I will never know.  But Cora Carmack graced readers with Losing it.

Losing It (Losing It, #1)

“Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, Bliss Edwards decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible – a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no one with half-a-brain would ever believe. And as if that weren’t embarrassing enough, when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, she recognizes her new theatre professor. She’d left him naked in her bed about 8 hours earlier”  good reads bio).

My main focus on Carmack’s novel was her adaption to a student professor relationship.  I have always wanted to read this circumstance but have yet to find hardly any besides Carmack’s.  (Maybe I’m not searching right).  However,  I very much enjoyed Carmack’s tale between two forbidden fruits.

Carmack brings a strong female independent character that takes charge of her sexuality like many famous authors have done before her.  Kate Chopin is one that strongly comes to mind in my comparison to similar themes.   If you ever get the chance Chopin’s The Awakening as well as her short story The Storm are older works that demonstrate Carmack’s attention to feminine strength and personal growth.

The main character, Bliss, is a theatre major which also is something of interest due to her timidness with the opposite sex and her life in general.  Her “stage life” is far more honest and courageous.

As the story progresses emotions rise VERY quickly, I mean VERY quickly.   With such high emotions I was concerned as to what the climax would be.  For fear of ruining the story, if you choose to read it I will say this, the climax is not what you would first think.  And this change to the traditional forbidden fruits/teacher-and-student-romance is fresh and new.  I laughed and “awwwed” through the entire thing and you will too.

I could not put the book down and easily finished it in 24 hours.

The writing was easy to follow and was well written with a first person point of view.  I encourage you to go grab a copy and enjoy Bliss and Garrick’s adventure.

After Losing It, look for her others: Faking It, Finding It,  Keeping Her (novella about Bliss and Garrick)

For more on the author: http://coracarmack.blogspot.com/     and   

 

~Don’t forget to, please, share, like, comment, and follow!~

 

Leave a Reply

