Afraid

There is a song out currently that I am obsessed with it.  Besides the awesome sound, I love the lyrics!  The song is called “Afraid” by The Neighbourhood.  Take a look at the lyrics.  If it bothers you, sorry for the language but I wanted to keep the words to the original.

“Afraid”

When I wake up I’m afraid, somebody else might take my place
When I wake up I’m afraid, somebody else might take my place

Paid that money, fake that dummy, ache my tummy
On the fence, all the time
Paid junk honey, face so sunny, ain’t that funny
All my friends always lie to me
I know they’re thinking

You’re too mean, I don’t like you, fuck you anyway
You make me wanna scream at the top of my lungs
It hurts but I won’t fight you
You suck anyway
You make me wanna die, right when I

When I wake up I’m afraid, somebody else might take my place [x3]
When I wake up I’m afraid, somebody else might end up being me

Keep on dreaming, don’t stop breathing, fight those demons
Sell your soul, not your whole self
If they see you when you’re sleeping, make them leave it
And I can’t even see if it’s all there anymore so

You’re too mean, I don’t like you, fuck you anyway
You make me wanna scream at the top of my lungs
It hurts but I won’t fight you
You suck anyway
You make me wanna die, right when I

When I wake up I’m afraid, somebody else might take my place [x3]
When I wake up I’m afraid, somebody else might end up being me

Being me can only mean
Feeling scared to breathe
If you leave me then I’ll be afraid of everything
That makes me anxious, gives me patience, calms me down
Lets me face this, let me sleep, and when I wake up (I wake up, I wake up)
Let me be

When I wake up I’m afraid, somebody else might take my place [x3]
When I wake up I’m afraid, somebody else might end up being me.

These words are quite powerful when you break them down.  I immediately think of individuals who have a harder time fitting in.  Our society tells us the uniqueness is new, fresh but the problem is society wants us to all be similar and follow certain roles, uniqueness is no longer unique.  However, not everyone is the same so where do they fit in?  When someone is uncomfortable in their own skin then they generate self doubt within themselves.  But the one thing that society does not push strongly is self love and self worth.  It makes me sad when I see little boys or little girls talk down to themselves about not being adequate or up to societies “standards” or even someone’s standards.  Now, you can argue that some pop singers or other celebrities are taking control and modeling self love by their actions but if that model is something sexual what message is that sending to young girls and young boys.  In order to not step on anyone’s toes, you can generate your own self love in whatever way you want but remember that self love is you and the view of yourself, but it is also how others see you love yourself.  Don’t let someone demand who you who are, don’t let someone take your place be your own place.  Love yourself and give yourself that self love and self worth you deserve.  Don’t be scared of yourself its just you and you’ve known yourself your whole life!

AH! I love music and it’s many messages we can get from it! ❤

Audio: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GsLMoxa6xZ0

~Please! Don’t forget to comment, like, share, and follow!~

Leave a Reply

